The “Jack of all trades” department

Hey Kalle,

read a blog post that I stumbled across (I think I started with looking up http://dojotoolkit.org/ which seems pretty neat btw) that made me think of you and your path as a freelancer.

It was kinda warm and helpful, and it seemed like a real person had written it, so I though it might be a good read for you:

http://rmurphey.com/blog/2010/08/14/2-years-in-some-thoughts-on-working-for-yourself/

Among all those nice tips, this little line caught my eye:

“My general theory on the economy question is this: rarely is full-time employment of a web worker an efficient distribution of labor, unless you are working for a very, very large company.”

Now, this can interpreted in many ways. But the thought I had was: maybe I’m thinking about my own role wrong?

(This is where this post takes a strange turn, it sometimes happens when I keep writing like this – new thoughts pop up and I’m too lazy to write a new post…) 🙂

I’ve always felt that I should try not to code when I’m hired for managing since it takes time from my managing, and therefore might make my co-worker less efficient and happy. Right now, as you know, I spend my time between project managing, recruiting, selling and coding and I’ve always thought of this as a phase we have to go through since the department is still growing (plan is to be around 10 people in 10 months, up from three right now).

But maybe it would be more effective if I’d still do a little of each even after the department has grown, and eventually hire a couple of others like me who can do a little of everything? A project lead who can sell? A coder who can recruit? A sales guy who can code and do GFX? This way, everyone can always do something where they are effective, even though we might not need coding or project managing right now. Hello cross-functional, flexible SCRUM team of our dreams where everyone can pick any task from the board and go.

I admit: this sounds like a Game Dev Story game gone a bit weird, but I have a strong feeling this could really work (and probably is working in a lot of smaller companies). I just wonder how far it would scale.

See you on Wednesday,

Mattias

 

 

Leave a Reply

